Are Audiobooks Still ‘Reading?’

what do you think?

OK, let’s get the obvious out the way to begin with: I know you listen to an audiobook, but can you actually class it as reading? Let’s pick a book at random …. I don’t know, let’s pick Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Now let’s say you downloaded the audiobook and listened to it. Would you then say you have ‘READ’ the book if anyone asks?

“Hey, have you read Gone Girl yet? It is amazing!”

“Yes! I loved it!”

Hmmm, but did you read it?

It’s a tough one, because literally speaking, no, you don’t read an audiobook, you listen, ergo my opening sentence above.

Awhile ago I wrote a post called Yes, I work in a Supermarket. I have a lot of time on my hands as it were. For the majority of the time I work, the shop is closed. No customers! But I am on my…

View original post 404 more words

